Mary Anning – Reception

Mary Anning – Reception class Long Term Plan & Skill Progression

The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework
The EYFS long term plan is first and foremost the EYFS Statutory framework. The Framework is divided into 3 sections: 

1. Characteristics of Effective Learning 

2. 3 prime areas of learning 

3. 4 specific areas of learning 

Characteristics of Effective Learning 

The characteristics of effective learning, which is how we learn, underpins the Early Years Foundation Stage. The ways in which children engage with others and their environment – playing and exploring, active learning and creating and thinking critically – support the children to remain effective and motivated learners. 


Playing and Exploring – finding out and exploring, playing with what they know and being willing to ‘have a go’. 

 Active Learning – being involved and concentrating, persevering and enjoying achieving what they set out to do. 

Creating and Thinking Critically – having their own ideas, making links and choosing ways to do things. 


To help children understand about how they can develop effective learning behaviours we actively encourage children to: 

Be independent
Be Creative
Be adventurous
Be Reflective 

 The framework also describes the seven areas of learning that are divided into Prime and Specific areas. These “must be implemented through planned, purposeful play.” 

Prime Areas 

Personal, Social and Emotional Development 
Communication and Language 
Physical Development 


Specific Areas 

Literacy –

Understanding the World
Expressive Arts and Design